Thursday, 22 December 2011

Sound art and electronic music courses at Hola folkhögskola 2012

A distance learning course in sound art will be held during the first semester 2012 at Hola folkhögskola, close to Kramfors in Northern Sweden. Since the course info is in Swedish, I guess the course will be taught in Swedish, too. A rudimentary English translation of the course description:
The course is for artists and other interested who want to refine their ways of expressing themselves in sound. It is a course for those who want to broaden their styles with creative work with sound in sound art projects. The course includes seminars, projects under supervision, listening skills and analysis of sound in film, music, radio and web. Literature studies.
The application deadline is January 15, 2012.

Hola folkhögskola also has a distance learning course in electronic music with Pd for beginners, application deadline February 15, 2012, and a one-year course in Music production and audio engineering starting the second semester 2012. One can choose electronic music and sound design as a specialisation. Application deadline April 15, 2012.

Monday, 12 December 2011

Some sound art papers

The papers from the Sound Art Theories Symposium 2011 papers are now available. For those interested in digital archiving, David Grubbs' paper "'Remove the Records from Texas': Parsing Online Archives" discusses two "very different kinds of online archives", UbuWeb and DRAM (the acronym stands for Database of Recorded American Music, but the archive holds works from other countries as well).

Saturday, 3 December 2011

Calls for 2012

Please note that all calls etc. for 2012 will be published here, and not in separate posts.

Thursday, 1 December 2011

New books and CDs in EMS' library

New books
  • Aare, Anders: Ljuddesign för scenen
  • Acoustic environments in change, Five village soundscapes
  • Darmstädter Beiträge zur Neuen Musik 1959
  • Diederichsen, Diedrich & Ruhm, Constanze (ed.): Immediacy and non-simultaneity : utopia of sound
  • Hellström, Björn: Noise design : architectural modeling and the aesthetics of urban acoustic space
  • Helmholtz, Hermann von: On the sensations of tone as a physiological basis for the theory of music
  • Kirn, Peter (ed.): The evolution of electronic dance music
  • Manzo, V. J.: Max/MSP/Jitter for music : a practical guide to developing interactive music systems for education and more
  • Mossberg, Frans (ed.): Buller i blåsväder
  • Mossberg, Frans (ed.): Ljudmiljö, hälsa och stadsbyggnad
  • Numminen, M. A.: Till Helsingfors
  • O'Konor, Louise: Viking Eggeling 1880-1925 : modernist och filmpionjär : hans liv och verk
  • Re-tooling residences : a closer look at the mobility of art professionals
  • Salter, Chris: Entangled : technology and the transformation of performance
  • Shryane, Jennifer: Blixa Bargeld and Einstürzende Neubauten : German experimenal music : evading do-re-mi 
  • Tonsättare i Sverige 1981
  • Young, Gayle: The sackbut blues : Hugh Le Caine : pioneer in electronic music
  • Zetterblom, Margareta: Textile sound design
  • Åman, Jan & Birnbaum, Daniel (ed.): De ou par Marcel Duchamp par Ulf Linde
New CDs  
  • 5 composers
  • 5 composers : second coming
  • 5 composers : 3rd hearing
  • Academic noise
  • Archipel électronique. Vol. 1
  • Ars Ludi: Percussione e oltre
  • Bilbao Kolektibo Elektronikoa: BIKE 3.0
  • Bits and pieces
  • Broberg, Jonas & Karlsson, Erik Mikael: Two composers
  • Cache 2004
  • Cache 2007
  • Cache 2008
  • Cache 2009
  • Electronic music from Catalonia 2010
  • Electronic music. Vol. IV, Música viva competition : prize winners 2007 - 2008 - 2009
  • Elektrofoni : new electroacoustic music from Sweden
  • Gros: Homes
  • Johansson, Pär: The empty palace
  • Kubisch, Christina: Licht Himmel : Gasometer Oberhausen
  • Leak: Redemption
  • Leak: The old teahouse
  • Liljekvist, Jan: The strange and incredible world of Dr Jayne Insane and the Gutbucket Philharmonicks
  • Lindström, Mats & Runolf, Sören: A wonder of beauty and efficiency
  • Lundsten, Ralph: Nordic nature symphony no. 3 : ”A midwinter saga”
  • México electroacústico 1960-2007
  • Pauk: Insekt
  • Phonorama
  • Riis, Jakob: No Denmark
  • Rylander, Henrik: Formation
  • Sigal, Rodrigo: Space within
  • Six winners : the Stockholm Electronic Arts Award
  • Winner takes all
(The full catalogue can be found here: